Flags of Our Fathers (2006)

Branded as the companion film to Letters from Iwo Jima, I had to see this film after “Letters…” made quite an impression.

I will admit it failed to have the same effect that the “Letters…” had on me. But then, before we make any conclusion, both the films are very different, primarily in presentation. In “Letters…” you can’t but help making a direct connection with the characters, the language (the entire film is in Japanese) is no barrier. It is direct. “Flags…” on the other hand is a narrative of sorts. Someone is telling the story (I don’t mean the literal presentation, i.e. the narration by the heroes), but it is like we are being told about the heroes.

Also the non-linear presentation in “Flags…”, while effective, takes some time to settle down, sink in, especially if you don’t quite know the true story. I wonder if the experience would have been different if I had seen “Flags…” before I saw “Letters…”

Watchable, for sure, however.

Flags of Our Fathers (2006)

2 thoughts on “Flags of Our Fathers (2006)

  1. I think Letters is the more emotional & Flags the more intellectual although the latter film is still quite touching). Flags in particular benefits from repeat viewing in my experience. I was quite impressed by the non-linear structure & the way it contributed to the feeling of these men being trapped in an impressionistic nightmare where no matter how old they got they were constantly being thrown back to the battle on Iwo or that reenactment of the flag raising at the football stadium. And the photos at the end were very moving. Two masterful movies for sure.

  2. Agree, in toto. However, for the life of me, I cannot but help make the comparison. I will take it under advice @ repeat viewing. Many movies have altered my first impressions that way! Thank you, dear first commentator on this blog!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

