Vasudev Balwant Phadke (2008)

Vasudev Balwant Phadke (2008) was a much awaited movie given my love for historical movies. I have now accepted that most historical portrayals have a bit of a drama added to it; I have made my peace with that. I have learnt to ignore that from the story.

VBP however, had me falling off my seat. An item song? Lesser said the better. One day I decide that Marathi movies have come of age — the next day I see this. I reset my expectations. Save one, all performances were below average. Sharad Ponkshe helped me stay at my seat. The dialogues were over-simplified, and delivered without passion. Notice how they say, “Har Har Mahadev!”

Ajinkya Deo looks very good in the part, all phases of it. The moment he opens his mouth, however, all is lost. I have seen some of his performances earlier, and when I think back, this was never a role for him.

Sonali Kulkarni overacts, as usual. Interestingly, I think she does it only in Marathi movies. Ramesh Deo comes in a for a few minutes in the film and is a saving grace, even if miniscule.

Much, much could have done in this smart production and well thought of film.

One thought on “Vasudev Balwant Phadke (2008)

Leave a Reply

